Houston DWI Attorney
Facing DWI Charges? We’re Ready to Fight for You
If you have been arrested or charged for DWI, you do not want to face the criminal justice system alone or without a plan. You need a skilled Houston DWI lawyer who has the knowledge and experience to guide you through your case and ensure that your rights are protected.
At Omar Saman, P.C., you can expect to find a criminal defense attorney who is committed to fighting for a dismissal or reduction of your charges. When you contact my law firm, I can personally sit down with you to discuss the details of your case and walk you through your options.
What Happens to First-Time DWI Offenders in Texas?
DWI charges are among the most common criminal offenses in the U.S. Most of the time, DWI offenders are regular people who would never think of committing a crime. However, if you are charged with a DWI, you will be prosecuted like a criminal. The penalties for driving while intoxicated are severe, even for first-time offenders.
First offense DWI in Texas is charged as a Class B misdemeanor. The penalty for this type of crime has a maximum jail sentence of 180 days and a fine of up to $2,000.
The penalties for first-time DWI offenders are subject to significant increase if the driver:
- Had a BAC level of .15% or higher
- Had a passenger under the age of 15
- Seriously injured another person
- Caused someone’s death
Vehicular manslaughter — the worst of the above scenarios — can result in a maximum fine of $10,000 and up to 20 years in prison. Penalties will also increase based on how many previous offenses the driver has.
Contact Omar Saman, P.C. Today
With so much at stake, no matter how many times you have been convicted of DWI, it is crucial to obtain qualified representation from an experienced Houston DWI attorney. For the sake of your future and your reputation, take action to defend yourself today.
To speak with an experienced Houston DWI attorney, call (713) 521-9955.